Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) : Objectives, Purposes & Member States of the CSTO | UPSC Notes

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Collective Security Treaty Organization upsc

• The Collective Security Treaty Organisation (CSTO) is a group of six countries that work together to protect each other’s security.

The goal of the CSTO is to protect all of its members against attacks from the outside.

• It started storming into Kazakhstan to stop the protests that were threatening the government that has been in charge of the Central Asian country since 1991, when it became an independent republic.

History: It is a defence alliance between different countries that was signed on May 15, 1992.

In 1992, the Collective Security Treaty was signed by Russia, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan. All of these countries used to be part of the Soviet Union.

This is also called the “Tashkent Treaty” or the “Tashkent Pact.”

The next year, Azerbaijan, Belarus, and Georgia also signed, and the pact went into effect in 1994.

Five years later, six of the nine countries, except for Azerbaijan, Georgia, and Uzbekistan, agreed to extend the treaty for another five years. In 2002, these six countries also agreed to form the Collective Security Treaty Organisation (CSTO) as a military ally.

• Main office: The main office is in Moscow, which is the city of Russia.

• Members: Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, the Russian Federation, and Tajikistan are all part of the group right now.

• Goals: To improve peace, international and regional security, including cybersecurity and stability, and to protect the independence, territorial integrity, and sovereignty of member states on a collective basis.

ALSO READ  T K Sherin Shahana Biography, Age, UPSC Marksheet, Rank, Optional Subject, Preparation Strategy